Not The Nose Picker’s Class!

My daughter is going to be entering the 2nd grade next Tuesday.  Her school had an open house today, so we went to meet her teacher and fellow classmates.  As we were going through all of the kids names on the desk, my daughter said,

 “OH NO!” 

“Honey, what’s wrong?”  I asked, slightly confused. 

“IT’S HIM!”  She said in a very quiet, but concerned tone. 

“It’s who?!”  I asked, just as quiet and concerned. 

Honestly, I was thinking maybe this child had hurt her feelings last year.  She had a few issues with some bullies, but I thought everything was taken care of.  It was the typical 1st grade teasing and she was over it pretty quickly.

“It’s…  It’s…  THE NOSE PICKER!”  she said, just as serious as if it were the President making a television-interupted announcement.

My daughter really has never been the type of kid to make fun of another child.  She is outgoing and fun, but she has a very caring heart for a 7-year-old.  I really don’t think she was saying this in a making fun of kind of way, but still, we had to talk.

“Lexi, it is not nice to label somebody a nickname.  That is called teasing and that could really hurt his feelings.”  I was trying to explain as best as I knew how.

“Momma, I’m not calling him a name.  He really does this!  He really just picks his nose allllllll day long!”  Again, she is saying this as serious as can be.  This was an intense discussion.

“Honey, you only call him by his name.  Do not talk to other kids about it.  Do not say it to him.  Just be nice and do not share a snack with him!  Got it?!”

“But…”

“GOT IT?!”

“Ok.  He really does this though.” 

After learning I was just not going to get the last word, I decided to show her a picture from when she was little, little.  A picture of my little angel and I.  It was one of those self pictures, so as I was looking at the camera, I thought she was too.  When I looked at it, I saw this:

She quickly decided she will definitely not label or make fun of anybody anymore. 

 “Maybe he didn’t mean to do it.”  She said with a coy smile.

“That’s right honey.  Maybe he didn’t mean to?”

xoxo,

Stacy

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 17:41:51

    Cracked me up. Kids are so easy to reason with when you can give them proof.

    Reply

  2. Marryl AllWrite
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 22:39:46

    This just cracked me up! I’m a preschool teacher and kids just say things ‘matter-of-factly’. You handled it pretty well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

