People Perceptions

I was talking to my Fiance today in the car just driving along.  We noticed an antique store and were scoping out the pieces of furniture on the front lawn.  I mentioned how my style has changed so much since my first apartment.  Everything I bought or painted had to be contemporary.  Sleek statues and glass tabletops filled my rooms. Now, I’m more into the antique look.  Thinking I was just blabbing, I was surprised to learn he was just as interested in decor.   He described what it was he used to dream of:  An all white kitchen, black countertops and stainless steel appliances.  He had pretty good ideas and I could picture everything he was saying perfectly.

“I would have loved to have been an interior decorator.”  He said, almost in a shy, but joking tone.

“Why didn’t you do it?”  I asked.

“Look at me!  Who would take me serious when it came to decorating their home?”  He was convincing.

I understood completely what he was saying.  When you think of a male interior decorator, do you automatically see an image of somebody you think fits the job?  Looking at my Fiance, you wouldn’t think “decorator.”  You would probably think of him as somebody who could probably kick your arse.  Knowing him though, he is as sweet as can be.  He would give you the shirt off of his back.  Most probably wouldn’t hire him as an interior decorator, but maybe they would consider him as a carpenter or something similar. 

Why do we all look at somebody and assume their profession.  Why do we assume based on one look?  Why judge based on appearance?   How can you know their work, before you see with your own eyes what they can do?

I would love to be one of those girls who rock the 50’s pin-up look.  The “rockabilly” style with the tattoos and polka dots.  I envy the ladies that can pull it off and am sad to know I wouldn’t be able to keep my job if I tried it.  I spoke about this before at my job and was told there are no visible tattoos or piercings allowed.  “Why?”  I asked.  Well, “because in the insurance profession nobody would take you seriously.”

It makes me angry, but it’s probably true.  What comes to your mind when you see somebody tattooed or pierced?  Not everyone thinks this way, I know.  Majority of the people I know do, sadly.  It’s either not classy in their mind or they don’t understand it.  Therefore, it shouldn’t be allowed in the professional world. 

Says who? 

I do believe America has become more diverse and “tolerant” with different appearances, but I think it could be better.  I think the tolerance needs to go and acceptance needs to come into play.  We need to wipe out all perceptions and get to know others before we judge.  We need to not even think about a person and assume we know their personality based on their appearance.  The guy with the tattoos and scruff may become the best friend you ever had.  The girl rocking her own look may be as talented as the girl next door in the plain jane clothes. 

I feel we should all just give everyone a chance.  Hold at least a few conversations with them before you label.  Just like Mom always said:

 “Don’t judge a book by its cover.”

xoxo,

Stacy

Leave a Reply

