Road Rage – We Can’t Hear You Screaming Inside Your Car!

Silly thing happened this morning.  I was driving my daughter to school and there was a bus about a half mile down the road.  The bus was picking up children on the way, so traffic was stop and go.  Nobody could move out-of-the-way, it’s a normal school morning where patience is a great thing.

Well, not all of us had patience.

Here comes this lady, honking her horn, telling people to move so she can pull into a side street.  None of us had any place to go, we were all bumper to bumper!  She proceeded to flip anybody she could see off in the process!  Didn’t care who saw her do it.  Didn’t even care about the children waiting at the bus stop or about my daughter who could see what she was doing.  Luckily, she doesn’t know what that means.

“Momma, why is that lady so mad?”  She asked innocently.

“Some people are just in a hurry sweetheart.”  I said.

I get grumpy on occasion.  People who don’t use their directional usually set me off, but I don’t have a hissy fit about it.  There is nothing I can do to change the situation.  My mean old Mom mobile with pink license plates will not intimidate anybody. 

I, personally don’t understand the point of the honking or the yelling from behind the wheel.  We can’t hear you.  We don’t care what you are saying.  You are only raising your blood pressure and taking years off of your life, so why do it?!

Oh, and for all the tail-gaters of the world:  Following behind somebody, with only an inch or two between vehicles is not going to make the person in the front go any faster.  I will drive exactly the speed limit if you do this to me.   I know some people who will brake check you.  I don’t believe in this personally, but it happens and guess what:  The person who rear-ends the other car is the one at fault.

Not worth it!

So, my advice for the day is smile and nod.  Let somebody into the traffic line.  Don’t let your children or anybody else’s children see you commit road ragism. When somebody beeps and yells angrily at you, smile and wave.  If you see an angry driver,  be happy that person doesn’t work with you.  Or, even better, be happy you aren’t married to that person. 

And if you are married to “that” person, I am so sorry.  You are in my thoughts and prayers.  I really hope they don’t act like that when it comes to the television remote.

xoxo,

Stacy

Leave a Reply

