It’s My Turn To Vent And You’re Going To Listen!

Many vent sessions happy with these ladies at work!

I tend to be “that” person that people come to with problems.  I could be minding my own business at the beach or park and it never fails, somebody always starts chatting to me about their life.  I don’t mind, I actually don’t mind at all.  But man, sometimes it’s my turn and I want whoever it is to give me the same attention I always give them!

Now, I am not going to start conversing with a stranger about my personal life.  I don’t mind if people do that to me, but I am fairly private.  I share things on here or on my social media sites, but there is a whole lot more to me that I keep personal.  But, when I do feel the need to talk, I expect my friends, co-workers, family, whomever, to want to listen and be there for me.  I always listen to them and I feel entitled to a session now and then.  However, that does not always happen.

I have a few friends and family members that I can go to, night or day.  I can vent and vent about anything to them.  They are always there!   Thank goodness for them.  Thank goodness for my Fiance who is literally there 24/7.  My issues are with the one-sided friends.  The friends that come to me, need a shoulder.  The friends that I am there for day in and day out.  The friends that, when I go to them, they turn their head or change the subject.  I just want to scream, “HELLO!  I AM HERE TOO YOU KNOW!”

Things have got to change, but can they?

I almost wonder if they even realize they do this?  Do they even think to ask about my children, my day, my job, my life?  In the hours of conversations that consist of them using the words, “me, myself and I” over and over again, do they ever once think about asking about my life?  Or do I not have one in their eyes?  Is it too boring and uninteresting to talk about?  It doesn’t have to do with them of course, but maybe even one split second of unselfish thought? 

I use the term “friend” loosely here.  I have a very hard time considering any one-sided friendship an actual friendship.  It’s more of a therapist – patient relationship.  It’s really sad to have to feel that way, but I’m certain many of us have these “friendships.”  I have talked to a few of these people about this, but things never change.  I will go weeks or months before we speak.  I’ll try to reach out, but nothing ever comes of it.  That is, until they need a shoulder to cry on.

Silly me though will continue to be there.  I just cannot turn my back on a person that needs a friend.  I will continue to listen and continue to be ignored by them.  But, I thank my lucky stars every day that I have my Fiance, a few close friends and some amazing family members.  And social media sites and my blog so I can vent if no ears are available! 😉

What more does a girl need? 🙂

xoxo,

Stacy

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Becky Turner Sherwood
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 20:49:53

    Hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

