Everything Happens For A Reason… I Think.

I took this picture in the summer. 🙂 Perfect.

 

We had our hearts set on a house.  It was perfect for us.  Perfect amount of bedrooms, perfect amount of land.  It used to belong to my Great-Grandparents.  My Gram grew up there, my Mom was always there as a kid.  This would have been so great to raise our family in.  We set up a showing and then boom:  The sellers took it off the market.  Needless to say, we were pretty disappointed.  No.  We were incredibly sad, frustrated, heartbroken AND pretty disappointed.  My Mom always told me, “everything happens for a reason.”  But, does it?

All kinds of misfortunes happen to everyone, but how can we be so sure that things do really happen for a reason?  Is that the case, or do some of us just have terrible luck? 

Examples of some things I have had trouble understanding in life:

Why didn’t we get that house?  Why was I born with Scoliosis?  Why did all the boys I was in “love” with as a teenager go away?  Why did I get married and divorced at a young age?  Why was I adopted?

When all of those things happened, I didn’t understand why.  But, now I do.

Another house will come our way.  I taught somebody about Scoliosis who didn’t even know it existed.  Her daughter was diagnosed thanks to an extra spine exam.   I didn’t know what love was as a teenager.  If I had settled, I would have never known what a soul mate was like I have now.   If I had never known my ex-husband, I would have never had my daughter.  If I had never taken the path that I took, I wouldn’t have my boys and my fiance.  As far as being adopted goes, I wouldn’t be even close to where I am now in life.

Maybe things do happen for a reason? 🙂

I choose to believe in the everything DOES happen for a reason theory.  If I just say it’s bad luck all the time, my children may grow to feel the same way.  I want them to grow up having hope.  I never want them to stop striving for something better, just because one fall gets them down.  I’ve said it over and over and I will say it again, our children watch us.  They mimic every move we make.  If we raise them with our own superstitions and poor attitudes, they are likely to have the same attitude as a grown up.  Who wants MORE negative people in the world?  We need to raise our kids to stay positive and never give up.

We need to teach them that even though something doesn’t turn out the way we wanted or expected, there is a reason behind it.

Everything happens for a reason.  This, I know. 🙂

xoxo,

Stacy

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. S A Shaw
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 21:15:20

    You are ever the optimist. And I love it. I wish my outlook on life were as positive as yours. Because while I believe crap sometimes just happens to people (“Time and unforeseen occurrence befall them all,” says the Bible), it’s what we do with the adversities that defines us. You learn from your mistakes, you move on, and you are grateful for the wonderful things that come out of the difficult situations. And that is why you, Stacy, are such a wonderful person. Your trials make you more empathetic to those around you. What a wonderful quality that is! I’m so blessed to have you as a friend. Thank you for reminding me that life is good, even when it’s not.

    Reply

  2. kingstar
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 21:24:22

    a wonderful house ,and a friendly famliy

    Reply

  3. Tracy
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 22:55:05

    I have had a lot of ‘why did this happen’ moments. I, like you, know that had I not made certain choices I would not have the 2 wonderful children I have now. Sometimes we have to go thru bad stuff to get to the best things in life. Hopefully, most of us learn from the hard times. I have gone thru a most difficult time w/ my son that I would not wish on any parent. But had he not gone thru the the things he did, he would not be the strong person he is today. Funny you blogged about this subject. I told him just yesterday, that one day, he’ll be happy, & look back on his trying times & think, ‘I made it thru the storm’. Thank you for sharing this Stacy. You are truly amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

