A Mother’s Job Lasts Longer Than 18 Years

When I found out I was pregnant for the first time, I was nervous, but insanely thrilled.  I was going to be a Mommy.  I was young, 21, but I was so excited.  I knew that from this point on, I was always going to be a Mommy.  That’s a lot to take in, but I was up for the challenge.

Not everyone feels this way though.  I have heard over and over, from many people, that once their babies are 18, they are on their own.  Of course, I will push for my children to be independent.  I’ll try my best to lead them in the right direction and to make the right choices.  I’ll hope they choose college and then from there, go on to incredible lives, careers and families.

But, if they fall, I’ll still be their Mommy.

When you have children, you don’t just have them 0-18.  You have them for life.  If they need help, you need to be there for them.  Tough love at times, of course.  But, if they need you, it should be your responsibility to help them get back on their feet. 

Having a baby is a vow.  It’s a vow to be there forever.  If they can’t move out right away after school, give them some room to become established.  Teach them about life. 

Don’t be a selfish parent. 

Situations happen and things can get difficult.  My children are young, but I do have friends that have had some difficult times with their older children.  I hope and pray that doesn’t happen, but if it does I will pray for strength.  I want to be there for my children forever.  Not just temporary.

Of course, I can understand when parents are excited to retire and see the world.  Excited to experience the empty next and they should be!  But, at the same time, don’t forget about your babies.

I was on my own and married at 19-20.  I was that child that fell.  I was divorced with a child by 25.  I had no place to go.   Well, no place, but home.  My parents were there.  They have always been there.  They devoted their lives to myself and my brother and sister.  I thank the lord every night that they were not selfish parents.  They watch my children every day while my Fiance and I work.  I don’t say it enough, but I am incredibly grateful.

My Grandmother is almost 87.  She talks to my Mom everyday.  She’s always there for her.  Maybe that’s where my parents get it from?  Regardless, I am so happy I was nurtured and taught to nurture my own children.  I hope that my children will see me there for them forever, just like I see my parents are for me.  Hopefully they will pass that love on to their own children.

“A  mother’s work is never done.”

  ~Author Unknown

xoxo,

Stacy

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 16:51:14

    Its great to hear that someone feels that way. You are a great mom, Stacy. Never forget that.
    I was married young as well. Too young to even know how to be a parent. I know the exact time I should have left my ex-husband, that little thing called pride stopped me. Should have left & went back home to my mom. My son had a hard time when we did divorce. He made some bad choices. I had to use tough love. Honestly I did not know I had that in me. It was the hardest thing I have ever had to do. I feel that he learned from that. I know I did. I found a back bone I never knew I had. He is still in a difficult situation, but is taking steps to make his life better. He knows I’m his biggest supporter but if he messes up I’ll definitely let him know how I feel about it. He is 27. He talks to me more than he ever did when he was younger. He talks w/ me about his future, his fears of the future. You never stop being a parent. Your child will come to you for all kinds of advice. It may be little things or it could be major, big, important decisions. My mom is 68. I still call her for advice. I have a wonderful teenage daughter & I hope she can always turn to me with any problem she has. I have told her there is nothing she can ever tell me that will change the way I feel about her, that I will love her no matter what, but I want her to live her life in a way that others will love & respect her as well. So far, that has worked well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

