Mommy, Are You Hiding Candy From Me!?

Halloween candy.  The kiddos work so hard to get their buckets full of all kinds of candy.  So, when what I am about to tell you happened, I felt incredibly guilty.

But, it was so worth it.

It was about 10pm, hubby-to-be and I were rummaging through all the candy buckets.  We were actually trying to remove all peanut butter, peanut, soy, tree nut infested candies.  We didn’t want our 2-year-old, who is allergic to EVERYTHING, to accidentally get ahold of one of those.  Rather than tossing them away, we decided not to waste any. 😉  He tossed me a package of peanut M&Ms.  It was late, so it was safe to indulge.  Or at least I thought it was.

I tore open the package.  All of a sudden, he appeared.

“Mommmmmmmma!”

It was like he was a ghost in a movie.  He seriously just appeared out of nowhere!  He was JUST sleeping!

“Momma, do you have our candy?!”

All of a sudden, I was a child again.  I hid the candy under my blanket and quickly answered him.

“No!  I don’t have any candy!  You need to get back to bed!”

“Momma, I know I just heard candy.  I know I did.  Can I have the candy now?”

“Back to bed.  Candy after supper tomorrow night.”

“But, you and Daddy are having candy!”

“Back to bed!”

He went back to bed.  I went back to my candy.  I continued hiding it under the blanket, just in case another child came out to catch me in the act.  I had to eat it quickly and I had to be sneaky. 

The next morning on the way to school, I had thought my 3-year-old would have forgotten about this incident.  Sadly, he did not. 

“Momma, it is not nice to eat our trick-or-treat candy!  Momma, it’s just not nice!”

“I’m sorry Aiden.”

“Really Momma?  Really?!  You ate our candy!” 

Yup, for once my 7-year-old was paying attention to the conversation.  Although, I should have known her ears would be in tune when candy was involved. 

Next year, all the peanut candy gets taken to work with us.  At least then, we won’t have to hide to eat it. 😉

xoxo,

Stacy

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. davidpotter67
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 20:59:01

    That made me laugh, never underestimate kids when it comes to cand! you could have been outside and they would still catch you at it, wouldn’t it be easier to explain that some candy is bad, some is good, Mommy has to check it first. 😉

    Reply

  2. Kaitlin
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 21:46:19

    Lol! Have you seen the Jimmy Kimmel thing where he asked parents to tell their kids they’d eaten all their halloween candy? It’s one of those “I’m a horrible person for thinking this is hilarious” things.

    Reply

  3. shoes
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 23:17:23

    That is awesome! It is amazing that children can “hear” candy. 🙂 Thanks for the laugh.

    Reply

  4. When the Kids Go To Bed
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 08:32:26

    My 4 year old was asking why there was a candy wrapper on the coffee table in the morning. “Did eat our halloween candy when we were sleeping Mom?” I had to remind the husband to disgard the candy wrappers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

