PAGING ALL HAPPY PEOPLE! Are Any Of You Left?

I’m happy.  I whistle.  I smile.  I laugh.  I sing (terribly, but that’s not my point.)  I like being happy.  I like being around happy people.  I like being excited for a holiday or even just a weekend.  I like finding things to be happy about.  But, why am I finding myself surrounded by such unhappy people?

Can anybody help me out?

Yes, the economy is bad.  True, raises at work have not been handed out in years.  Gas prices are crazy.  Holidays are a lot of work.  Families can get a little crazy this time of year.  Money doesn’t grow on trees.  I could go on and on and on.   But, honestly, is it really THAT bad? 

It probably isn’t.   

It’s so easy to be miserable.  I could fill pages and pages of things to be miserable about, but guess what, I don’t.  I try really hard to find the good in each day.  I try really hard to look forward to fun things coming up. 

It is easy being miserable, you want to know what isn’t easy?  Trying to stay happy surrounded by CONSTANT negativity. 

And that negativity is everywhere.  It’s everywhere!  Moaning and groaning about little things.  Imagine how you would do in a third world country?  Imagine what those people live with everyday?  I bet they aren’t posting about all the aches and pains on Facebook or Twitter.  I bet they deal and I bet they find reasons to appreciate what we are given on this Earth.  I’m not a Saint.  Things upset me, I vent.  There is a normal amount of misery every human encounters.  It’s normal.  What isn’t normal is consistent misery and anger.  Feeling entitled or deprived constantly.  That shouldn’t be the norm in the world today.  The norm should be all the happy people of the world. 

Misery should not be the new little black dress.

I have said things like this in other posts, but I do appreciate life.  I appreciate the fall colors.  I appreciate how beautiful Christmas lights look in the streets.  I appreciate high gas prices, because you know what?  Last year at this time, I didn’t have the van I have now.  I didn’t have gas prices to complain about.  I am much happier with my vehicle than without it.  I am THANKFUL for all I have. 

I am thankful for life.  Without it, we wouldn’t even be able to complain.  Imagine that all my fellow Scrooge and Grinch friends?  No complaining?  If that were the case, you may actually have to smile and be happy!  SCARY!

Please, try to be happier each day.  Positivity is contagious.  Unfortunately, so is negativity.  It is really hard to push through the day only hearing the bad.  Just a little effort will go a long way!   😉

xoxo,

Stacy

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. literarylunesPublications
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 16:26:06

    I came across this blog after searching for things on writing. I think it was a good thing that I came here, because I found something motivational, and uplifting. You’re certainly right about one thing…there is so much negativity it’s not even funny! Honestly, it takes up much more energy to be in a sour or angry mood than it does to be happy. I’d rather be happy personally, and for the most part, I am generally a happy person. I have a lot to be thankful for because almost all of my dreams have come true in the last two years. I’m engaged to a wonderful man, recently got published, and am working on starting my own publishing company.

    I live in NY, and believe me, there are A LOT of grumpy people here. I sometimes feel like that I’m the only “happy” person in this state. Honestly, if you have a house/roof over your head, a car, cable, electricity etc, then you really have no reason to be miserable.

    Thank you for posting this! It was truly inspirational, and it’s good to know that there are still people like you in the world to help put things like this into perspective!

    ~Beth

    Reply

  2. shoes
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 17:23:05

    What a great post!! “Misery should not be the new little black dress.” – brilliant! Thank you for giving me another thing to smile about today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

