All This Mommy Wants For Christmas

Christmas Night 2010 🙂

Dear Santa,

All I want for Christmas is one day or even just one morning of peace and quiet.  I love my children.  I love their crazy little ways.  But, out of 365 days in a year, I am just asking for one day, at home with silence.  Golden, beautiful silence.

Santa, This is my Christmas list.

No screaming, no diapers, no climbing into the tub fully clothed.

No getting into mommy’s make up, no hiding sippy cups in the cat box.

No Fireman Sam episodes twenty-five times in a row.

No throwing cereal at each other, no “mommy, I forgot my homework” calls from school.

No yelling into the bathroom, just in time to see mommy poke herself in the eye with mascara.

No hitting mommy’s arm to tattle, causing mommy to butcher her bangs.

No running down 3 flights of stairs just to forget a backpack, a hat or even a shoe. 

No putting hair clips on the cat’s tail.

No hiding mommy’s hairbrush or cell phone.

No waking up with Pop Tarts stuck in the kid’s hair.

I’m really not asking for much Santa.  Knowing me, I will probably miss all of these things if I do get this wish.  I love my morning with my kiddos.  They are always exciting and entertaining. 

But, can we just try it out?  Just once?

Just one day for me to feel pretty.  Perfect curls, a little bit of makeup, un-stained clothing.  That’s all.

Thank you Santa.  I’ll be sure to leave out some milk and cookies.  I can’t promise they will all be there when you arrive.  Mommy’s get hungry too. 🙂

xoxo,

Stacy

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 12:18:21

    I enjoy putting hair bows in the cats tail. LOL Once you have kids, you never get the ‘quiet time’ anymore. I don’t even remember what its like. My son who is 28 yrs old now, would follow me to the bathroom. I’d close the door & he’d put his little hand under the door & ask me if I could still see him. He’d die of embarrassment if he knew I still remember that & am writting about it. He would drag his blanket into our bedroom & sleep in the floor. We’d wake up & there he’d be. My daughter who is 13yrs ALWAYS feels the need to wake me up if/when I fall asleep on the couch. Why? She is either texting, on FB or watching disney channel, so why do I need to be awake for that? I was told that once you have kids, you never sleep quite as good, never have quite as good a time if you go out for an adult night out, like girls night or even a date w/ the hubby. I have found that to be quite true. Once they are grown, you still worry about them in one way or the other. I have found that if I stay up until 11 or 12, I can get a small bit of quiet time, but even then, I’m thinking about the next day’s activities. Yep, QUIET TIME has turned out to be another of those mythological myths about unicorns, dragons & fairies.

    Reply

  2. Lila Gedye
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 00:53:14

    Love your blog!

    Reply

  3. Tory Badua
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 01:37:08

    Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

