Where Can I Buy Some Christmas Elves?

So much to do! So little time left! I finished all of my shopping in November. Well, most of my shopping. Now, it’s time to wrap.

And wrap…

And wrap…

But, when?

I work 40 hours a week, like most people. I pick up the kids, fix dinner, and give baths. We also have basketball, dance, games and school functions. When they go to bed, I am close to being ready for bed.

So, where can I find me some Christmas Elves?

Wouldn’t that be great?!

They could magically wrap and tag everything. Maybe they could even do some last minute shopping for me?

They could bake all kinds of goodies and have them all boxed and jarred for Christmas.

All of this would be done while I work and do household chores. The tree would get decorated and Christmas music would play as we opened the door each night.

Ok. Enough day dreaming.

Santa will never give out a Christmas elf, so time to deal with it.

If anybody runs into me the week before Christmas, you don’t have to inform me on how I look. My eyes will be bloodshot with a hint of dark circles.
I’ll probably snap if you ask if I slept the night before. Carpal-tunnel will set in from the tape, scissors and wrap motion. Paper cuts will take over my hands. Hair won’t be done, and clothes probably won’t match.

But, all of the 30 people I wrap for will get neat, pretty package to open on Christmas day. And it will all be over in 39 seconds.

But, it will all get done. And, I may even try to smile in the process. Pft, who needs an elf? Not a super parent!

If you see me passed out on the couch on Christmas Day, let me sleep. Maybe Santa can bring me a “Do Not Disturb” sign to hang on me somewhere! Or a blanket with those words! That’d be perfect!

Maybe I don’t need an elf after all. Just a 5-hour energy drink and a nap on Christmas Day. And maybe one the next few days after. 😉

Xoxo,

Stacy

20111217-124427.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. correctionsandclarifications
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 11:37:48

    Great blog and even better snowman. Is that what the elves are making this year for the bad little girls and boys?

    Reply

  2. isobelthegreat
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 16:45:22

    Great post! I’m twelve years old, and basing on how you described yourself with the exhaustion and wrapping presents, it’s a mirror image of my mother! On Christmas morning she always looks so tired, and tells me she stayed up till one wrapping presents for my brother and I! And I love the snowman! It’s adorable!

    Reply

  3. lindacee
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 17:08:10

    I’m a great Christmas elf!!! But I admit this year I’m running behind on my own things so not going to be much help to anyone else, I used to always be on time and be able to help other’s with their wrapping and baking too but then I took up crocheting and now they all expect hand-made presents (which does get me out of last minute shopping trips to overcrowded malls 😉 but I miss wrapping a hundred presents, although there was that one time when my friend left MY present in the bag and I wrapped it myself 🙂 I couldn’t decide if she was laughing or crying the next morning when I opened it and “acted” all surprised, but since it was the cd I’d been wanting forever……)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

