Body Type: Needs Improvement

11 years in between photos. Different physique, same heart.

Fat, thick, curvy, chunky, plump, husky, chubby, beefy, cushy, hefty, heavyset, thick-set, whale-like, pot-bellied, over-sized, roly-poly, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah-blah.

In the past decade, my body has changed dramatically. I went from being 19 and fit to 20 and pregnant. At 21, I had my first beautiful baby, a little girl. At 24, I went through a divorce, my weight dropped dramatically. Ages 25 and 26, I gave birth to two, adorable baby boys.

Between the pregnancies and stress, my body fluctuated in probably a very unhealthy way. From curvy to thin, back to thick, down to stickly again, now keeping steady at cushy, I know my body. I also know it may not be as stunning as it has been in the past. I am my biggest judge. What people like myself do not need are the over-critical, real-life judges we have in our every day world.

This is not the Biggest Loser. This is not American Idol. Leave your comments and your words at the door. Even if you think it, just don’t speak it. Unless of course you are Cindy Crawford or Giselle. Being that close to perfection, I could take a critique or two from them. But, if you are from my world, here in the real world. Just zip. Zip, zip, zip.

I am aware of how I look, but I know first hand that there is more to me than the appearance. I give more than I receive. I truly find the beauty in EVERYONE. And I mean everyone. To me, what makes you ugly or beautiful is your personality. If you can sit up on your pedestal, judging every Tom or Betty as they walk on by, on weight or appearance, you are atrocious. “You need to eat all that make up on your face so you are pretty on the inside.” – A random quote on Pinterest. 🙂

I come from a family where it is common to hear the phrases, “oh, she has put on weight!” Or, “wow, is she ever fat!” Hearing this be said about people my entire life, I am pretty intelligent. I know it is said about me. But, here is the thing: I don’t need those words said to realize it. Other people probably have the same eyes as you, the only difference is maybe that they don’t speak the words. Maybe they know me for my personality. Maybe, they know that I used to be teeny-tiny, but they realize that I have housed 3 babies in this belly. They know that I am a very hard worker for my family, I have a desk job and while I sit for 40 hours each week, I am busting my butt mentally.

Maybe, those people who don’t judge on appearance, maybe they see me for ME.

Now, here is a little tip for those that may be trying to be a real, day-to-day judge like Simon Cowell, STOP. Worry about you. See the beauty in everyone! Short, tall, thick, small, perfect complexion or not. Find the good.

We all have an inner light that can make us shine, don’t let your light go out. Find it and brighten somebody’s day! It will feel so much better than judging. Promise. 🙂

xoxo,

Stacy

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 10:49:23

    you are beautiful… period

    Reply

  2. laurie
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 10:59:34

    you are always so true and real.love you honey

    Reply

  3. CYNTHIA YERAM
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 13:46:24

    I LOVE YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE.. ALWAYS HAVE AND ALWAYS WILL..

    Reply

  4. midnitechef
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 01:56:38

    God made you perfect 🙂 I’m in the same sort of rut, work at a desk all week, two kiddos, now early 30’s metabolism isn’t what it used to be a few years ago. Weight sticks like lint you can’t get off. Between house work, work work, and raising two little ones – when is there time to exercise? Do you find ways to get some in?

    Reply

    • smilingmommyblog
      Jul 10, 2012 @ 20:02:01

      Actually, I have been doing Billy Blank’s “8 minute workout” in the morning before work. In the evening, I have been doing a 1-3 mile walking video. And I truly believe chasing kiddos and grocery shopping should count as exercise! 🙂

      Reply

      • midnitechef
        Jul 11, 2012 @ 11:35:15

        I had Tae-Bo tapes a long time ago. I never seem to stick with anything and it’s hard to get started. I just watch what I eat and get outside with the kids as much as I can. Lifting grocery bags from the car should count as weight bearing exercise 🙂

Leave a Reply

