Yo Momma!

It’s funny how each year of grade school, a new problem surfaces.  We had the Kindergarten napping stage.   First grade, it was the nose picker’s class.  Second grade, we had a little bit of bullying which caused some anxiety issues.   

Now, for the third grade issue, you may need to brace yourself.   The topic may be sensitive for some.  Our third grade issue is none other than:

Wait for it…

Yo Momma jokes.

Yes.  You read that correctly. 

Yo Momma’s so fat when she wears a yellow rain coat people yell, “taxi!”

Yes.  Yo Momma jokes caused my third grader to cry. She’s never known such a terrible game.  Nobody talks about her Momma that way!

After I was done trying not to laugh, I had to explain to her how long these jokes have been around.  I told her not to take these things so literally.  Her momma may have a big booty, but when a boy says, “Yo Momma’s so fat she has to use two busses for her rollerblades” he is just telling a joke.  He wants to make her laugh.

“Ohhhh, I think I understand now,” she said.  “Like, ‘Yo Momma’s so fat when she goes to the zoo, the elephants throw her peanuts!’ But, that doesn’t really happen!?”  Giggle, giggle.

“Yes, honey.  I think you are getting the hang of this.”

“Like, ‘Yo Momma’s so fat, when she wears lipstick she uses a paint roller!’  Right, Mom?” As the giggles become even louder.

“Ok, no more Yo Momma jokes.  Now you know to just laugh and not get so upset, right?”

“Ok Momma.  I want to learn a whole bunch of Yo Momma jokes now!”

“I know you do, honey.”

So that was the big, third grade dilemma this morning. 

I can’t hardly wait to see what fourth grade is going to bring! 

P.S.  My personal favorite has always been, “Yo Momma’s so ugly, every time she walks by a toilet it flushes itself!”  But, please do not tell my third grader the Yo Momma Uglies exist!  I think the fat jokes are enough for now. 😉

Xoxo,

Stacy

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy Shockley
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 09:59:44

    My daughter is in 8th grade & it seems the Yo Mamma jokes are still popular. Each school year holds some type of challenge, whether its bullying, jokes, clicks (clicks seem to be every year) and too much socializing. The socializing is the problem I’m having this year. She’s still pulling A’s & B’s, but with less socializing, she could get all A’s. I know, it sounds like I should be happy w/ A’s & B’s, & I am. But I’ve noticed a LOT of playing going on. I’m waiting on an email from a teacher. She’s has always been very friendly & chatty. I thought we had ‘licked’ the talking in class in 3rd grade. I guess that never completely goes away.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 10:03:16

    omg Stacy I was laughing so hard my stomach hurt. I must say I like the paint roller joke the best. I have not come across anything like that yet. I have come across some bullying again this year.

    Reply

  3. Valerie
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 16:15:57

    LOL!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

