Don’t Blame Spongebob

Spongebob Jammies!

I respect scientific studies. I read about them often.  What I don’t respect are the studies that blame others for the way children behave.  When did America start pointing the finger at the world for their child’s behavior?  What about how the child is raised?

My children watch television, however they do not watch it for hours and hours.  We play games.  We go outside.  We practice writing, spelling and reading.  We do watch Spongebob now and then.  The kids think he is hilarious.  I have never seen any of my children act out in any way that is not normal.  We also watch Dora, Cailou, Bubble Guppies and Thomas.  I can honestly say, I have never seen my children try to repeat anything from this show. 

My daughter is 7 and is a great student.  She does her homework, takes her 2nd grade tests and guess what?  Sometimes, we watch Spongebob.   It has not effected her yet.  If it did, he wouldn’t come on the television again. 

My 2 and 3-year-old boys are your normal toddlers.  Once in a while they have tantrums.  Remember the term terrible 2s?  I’m pretty sure whoever came up with that phrase did not have Spongebob to blame.   They had the Three Stooges, Howdy Doody and the Little Rascals.  Did they blame them? 

If parents don’t want their children to watch certain t.v. shows, just turn the channel. Do you really need to preach to other parents to do the same?   Is Spongebob the person to blame for your child’s learning problems?  Who is the person that put the t.v. show on? 

I just feel that we all need to take responsibility.  It’s so easy to just point the finger at somebody else for our problems.  How about we just deal with it, fix it so it is good for ourselves and move on?  Scientific studies are wonderful, but are they always 100% accurate? 

It doesn’t mean I am a bad parent for letting my kids watch Spongebob.  It doesn’t mean you are a bad parent for not letting your kids watch Spongebob.  It just means what works for one family, may not work for another.  Don’t judge unless you want to be judged as well.  

And always remember, nobody is a perfect parent.  Nobody in this world can raise a child perfectly.  We all have different opinions and beliefs.  It doesn’t mean each and every one of them are correct.  It doesn’t mean they are wrong either.  It just means we love and raise our kids the best way we know how.  That is all you can do.

xoxo,

Stacy

Leave a comment